Beers Booze & Beverages Gluten Free Alcohol

April 27, 2012 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Products

When a young adult transitions to eating gluten free, one of the first questions is: What alcohol can I drink? Which alcohols are gluten free?

Here is a comprehensive list of gluten free alcohols.

GLTUEN FREE AT THE BAR: Hard apple ciders and wine are gluten free. Shots of tequila and rum are gluten free.

GLUTEN FREE MIXED DRINKS: The Mojito and Caipirinha are gluten free cocktails. A Screwdriver is orange juice and vodka, but those vodkas are not gluten free at the bar, so ask for orange juice and tequila instead. When looking at a cocktail list of specialty drinks, select the drink that has rum or tequila as the alcohol ingredient, all the rest may be made from grains like wheat, barley, rye that have gluten.

Before I knew about eating gluten free, I had already started drinking hard alcohol instead of beer because regular beer wreaked the worst havoc on my stomach, causing great distress, pain, and gas.

GLUTEN FREE ALCOHOL AT THE GROCERY STORE AND LIQUOR MARKETS:

Most stores now carry cider which is made from apples or pears, sometimes other fruits. Cider is a great alternative to beer and all brands taste pretty good. Do beware of its high sugar content.

My favorite casual beverage, refreshing like a soda on a hot day or night, not too sweet, not too strong, are the Fox Barrel pear ciders. They have a few different interesting flavors: blackberry, apricot, ginger and blackcurrant.

The Crispin and Ace apple ciders are much stronger tasting.

If you want gluten free beer, one good simple light tasting beer that I cover in depth is the Budweiser of gluten free beers, Redbridge.

If you like stronger tasting beers, you should try one of each gluten free beer to see what you like. Pictured above is a sample of what gluten free alcohol beverages are carried at WholeFoods, although it is constantly changing, week to week, depending on what customers buy. I have tried other beers, but they are too strong flavored for my delicate taste buds.

Made from grapes, all wine is gluten free, red and white.

**Anything made from wheat, barley, or rye is NOT 100% gluten free. These are most beers and many alcohols.**

In the old days, vodka was made with potatoes, which is ok for Celiac Disease sufferers, but these days, most vodkas are made from grains like wheat, which is bad for gluten intolerant people.

My favorite vodka for price, taste, and being gluten free (made with potatoes) is Monopolowa sold at Trader Joe’s and BevMo. Monopolowa is so far the best gluten free vodka I have found. With it, we make Lemon Drops with fresh picked lemons from my tree, organic sugar, ice, and vodka. For a faster drink, we use fresh squeezed  orange juice, also available at Trader Joe’s. Pretty much any juice tastes great with this vodka, pomegranate, cranberry, or any mixed fruit juice.

Tequila is made from the blue agave plant and is gluten free. What’s also great about Tequila, I find, is that it is good ToKillA belly ache caused by gluten. If I don’t have Pepto Bismal, Tequila also helps to make my stomach feel better when I have ingested gluten, or at least my head thinks so.

With tequila, it seems the more money you spend, the better tasting the tequila. I prefer gold colored tequila, which I think is aged longer, than the clear tequila. Some good tequila brands are Jose Cuervo Tequila for the any man (or woman) on a budget or Patron Tequila is great and has all kinds of amazing flavors if you have some extra bucks to spend. I am constantly trying new and different tequilas; the tastes differ dramatically. I would guess Mexico (from where tequila comes) probably has some special tequilas, so if you are visiting there, you might want to stock up on that.

I find Tequila tastes best either straight, or with orange juice, or tropical juices like pineapple.

Gosh, this just keeps going on and on. And people say it is hard to go gluten free! Hmmff! No it’s not.

Rum is gluten free and is made from sugar. I don’t buy rum so I don’t have any recommendations on brands.

If I am out celebrating something at a restaurant or bar, rum is the ingredient in my favorite two lime juice cocktails: the Brazilian national drink Caipirinha made from cachaca (the Brazilian equivalent to rum) and the Cuban drink Mojito.  The Caipirinha has lime, sugar, and cachaca. The Mojito has lime, soda water, rum, sugar, and fresh crushed mint leaves!

** Although rice is gluten free, Japanese Rice Beers like are Asahi and Kirin are not gluten free because they are made with Barley which has gluten. Sake, Japanese wine is made from Rice, Water, Yeast, and Koji mold; in general, sake (or saki) should be gluten free, but sometimes it is made with Barley. **

With all that, I think you have a good start to understanding how you can enjoy your gluten free alcohol!

As always, drink in moderation and never drive or ride a bike.  😉

The Fastest Easiest Gluten Free Pancake Recipe

April 17, 2012 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Breakfast

Here is the best simplest international recipe for the fastest easiest gluten free pancakes.

What you need:
— eggs
— yogurt
— flour

 

Preheat your nonstick frying pan or grill low to medium heat.

For each person eating, use 1 egg, 1 heaping table spoonful of gluten free all purpose flour (or any gluten free flour you like best or mixture thereof: tapioca, sorghum, rice, corn, corn starch, etc), and  1 heaping table spoonful of plain white yogurt (Fage is best). All three ingredient parts should be of equal size to each other. Stir it up until smooth.

Tip: For this smooth mix, small pancakes work best, so they don’t break when flipping.

That’s it!

You may add fruit, syrup, butter, or other accouterments at your own discretion.

Health Tip: Flour acts like sugar in the body; flour and sugars should ALWAYS be eaten at a minimum for best health and to minimize cancer probability. These pancakes have no sugar added and still taste great. Pictured here, I slightly buttered them and added strawberries to flavor. As much as I love syrup and sugar, I rarely use them anymore; when I do, I use organic natural maple syrup which is sooooo good.

International: What’s great about this easy recipe is that you can make these pancakes anywhere in the world using the local brands of flour and yogurt. Select a flour that is not made from wheat, barley, or rye, and you will have a good chance of evading stomach aches. Make sure to read the language translations for different flours and grains before you travel, so you understand what you are reading and buying. Some flours taste much better in pancakes than others, so that will be trial and error for you. Usually a mix of a few different gluten free flours is best. But for desperate times, one flour will suffice.

The flour used for the pancakes pictured here is Gluten Free Pantry’s All Purpose Gluten Free Baking Flour.

To see my super delicious deluxe version of pancakes, go to: Gluten-Free Blueberry Chocolate-Chip Banana Pancakes or for boxed pancakes from major grocers, try Bisquick.

Need a New Gluten Free Addiction? Trader Joe’s 70% Cacao with Toffee is the Best!

April 11, 2012 by  
Filed under Gluten Free Desserts

On Valentine’s Day, I received this Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Bar elegantly inlayed with tiny bits of toffee, walnuts, and pecans. The house has been stocked with it ever since by the mystery chocolate elf.

The 70% cacao chocolate bar is smooth with salty crunchy niblets. They write, “The beauty of caramelized sugar reveals itself in flying colors when mixed with butter and artisanal sea salt to create rich toffee…” True, true.

When you have to eat gluten free and are on the go, but desperately need to fulfill a sweet tooth craving, dark chocolate is often a safe gluten free option and healthier than processed treats high in flour and sugar.

Always read the label. This one says “No Gluten Ingredients Used” and I have no negative reactions to it.